Sarah Williams: Valedictorian

Sarah Williams smiles for a picture (Photo by/John Williams)

Sarah Williams smiles for a photo (Photo by/John Williams)

By: Rose McDermott

The valedictorian for Attleboro High School (AHS) was announced on May 14 at Awards Night. Sarah Williams with a GPA of 101.103 was the top student in the class of 2015.  She explains how she achieved this and how she feels about it.

Question: How did it feel when you found out you had earned this honor?

Answer: I was elated because I did not know that I would actually get it. I felt the most proud of myself than I ever have.

 

Q: How did you achieve this goal?

A:  I put in a lot of time, work and dedication. I never gave up no matter how hard things were.

 

Q: Was the schoolwork a major stress? How did you handle it?

A: Yes. I forced myself to get everything done as soon as possible even when I didn’t want to do it. To relieve stress I made sure to leave time to do things I enjoy, such as hanging out with friends, reading a good book or watching TV.

 

Q: What are your extra-curricular activities?

A: I am a part of Student Council, Class Council, Project Unite, and Answer for Cancer. I also started my own club: A New Mentality, a club dedicated to de-stigmatizing mental illness.

 

Q: How do you balance all your activities?

A: I spend most of my time at the school and a lot of my friends are involved in the same activities as I am, so it is easier to spend time with them and to remind each other of commitments.

 

Q: What did you enjoy most about your extra-curricular activities? A: That they gave me the opportunity to give back to my community and make a real difference within the school.

 

Q: Was this a goal you had in mind when you began high school?

A: Yes, I did well in middle school and I always prided myself on being in the top of my class.

 

Q: Do you feel that there is a certain way students can achieve this goal?

A:  Challenging yourself when choosing classes and always giving 100 percent at everything you do will certainly help toward achieving this goal.

 

Q: Was there a point where you felt that you wouldn’t be able to achieve this?

A: I never actually thought I would be able to. I knew I was among the top, but I never pictured myself as number one.

 

Q: Did your family help you achieve this honor?

A: My mom was always my support system. She was someone I could come home and vent to after a stressful day. Plus, her success in high school and college was always a motivating factor for me.

 

Q: Do you see yourself as a role model?

A: Yes, in the sense that I have a strong commitment to my community and my schoolwork.

 

Q: Do you plan to earn top grades in college?

A: I am expecting to be among an entire class of brilliant minds so it would not surprise me if I’m not. But I will definitely do my absolute best.

 

Q: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

A: I will have earned my Master’s Degree and will hopefully be working toward my PhD in either Biochemistry or Neuroscience.

 

Q: What is your career goal?

A: I hope to be working as a head researcher in a science lab.

 

Q: How would you describe your high school experience? Has it set you up for the future?

A: Busy, stressful and exciting. I have definitely stepped outside of my comfort zone and grown from that experience. I’ve learned important skills and values that I will need later on in life.

 

Williams will be attending Northeastern University in the fall and plans to major in Biochemistry.

