How Big is too Big?

IPhones (Photo by/ Emily Fernandez)

IPhones
(Photo by/ Emily Fernandez)

By: Emily Fernandez

The newest addition to the Apple family are the iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 plus. The iPhone 6 is 4.7 inches long and the 6 plus is 5.5 inches long, which is a stretch from the four-inch long first generation iPhone. Both devices were launched last September.

AHS senior Kelly Murray said, “I got my iPhone 6 the day it was released in stores and I absolutely love it; it’s so much better than any other iphone.”

Both these phones are thinner than ever, and are becoming bigger and better seeing as because they have a more impressive battery life than past iPhones. The iPhone 6 and 6 plus both have a completely new iPad-style with a larger screen, rounded edges, and very thin body. The two new iPhones also provide faster processors and higher quality-cameras.

The iPhone 6 and 6 plus are available in gold, silver, and space gray. They are also available in 16, 64, and 128 GB capacities. The iPhone 6 pricing starts at about $199 with a phone company contract; the 6 plus pricing starts at $299.

Without a phone company contract the iPhone 6 (unblocked) starts anywhere between $500 and $700; the iPhone 6 plus ranges from about $700 to $1,000 on Amazon and depends on the amount of gigabytes wanted.

AHS junior Makayla Briggs said, “It’s faster and easier to use than my last phone (iPhone 4) because it’s bigger.”

A recent controversy dealing with both of these phones includes possible bending in the pockets of users. This is, in fact, untrue. Users have seen phones bend but for that bend to occur, a major impact is needed.

The iPhone 6s are made of aluminum hence the easy “bending” of the phone in certain spots. “I love my iPhone 6; it is, in fact, it does not bend like people said it would, and it’s super fast with everything,” said Stanley, adding, “I have absolutely no problems with it.”

“My iPhone hasn’t given me any problems. It’s very fast and has cool features. My camera is even better than the last iPhone I upgraded from,” said senior Chris McNulty.

