Homecoming

Homecoming night (Photo by/ Emily Fernandez)

Homecoming night (Photo by/ Emily Fernandez)

By: Emily Fernandez 

Homecoming is a well known tradition in America that usually occurs in the fall. Almost every school in the United States celebrates the football teams’ rivalry game. Along with the big game come many other activities such as Spirit Week, pep rallies, alumni games, and to top it off the homecoming dance.

The homecoming dance is a really big deal usually for the ladies. It’s a night where they’re able to dress up, go over to each others’ houses and help one another  pick their best looks, take hundreds of photos, and maybe dance with that guy they’ve been “crushing on.”

Attleboro High School (AHS) has a homecoming dance every year the Friday before students and faculty go on Thanksgiving break. The whole school is invited and all grades come together in the large gym. It allows students to mingle and show off their best look.

Since homecoming is a semi-formal event, the guys attend in button downs and ties, and the ladies show up all dolled up in their party dresses in order to make great impressions. AHS junior Olivia Bergdoll said, “I get excited for homecoming each year because I love getting dressed up, I always go to Forever 21 for my dresses.” Forever 21’s popular “little black dress” section can be found at their stores or online.

Any and every year, no matter what the new color trend is or what’s in style, the number one colors to wear for homecoming is black. After that, it’s reds, white, or anything shiny.

AHS senior Cemyra Ramos said, “I shop at the same store every year for my homecoming dress. Charlotte Russe always has some kind of crazy patterned dress for me. Homecoming is the best for that. I love getting dolled up.”

Sophomore Idalis Fernandez said, “I’m very excited for homecoming this year because last year as freshman I didn’t really know how the whole homecoming thing went, what to wear, and if I needed a date or not.” She added, “This year I bought a black fitted long sleeved party dress from Macys. It was a little on the pricier side.”

Junior Brianna Eddy said, “I’m not going to homecoming this year but I’ve been my freshman and sophomore years and it was pretty fun. The gym was dark with strobe lights; it was fun to be with my friends dancing all night.”

“In the past I’ve gotten my dresses at H&M for the casual-formal look,” said Eddy.

This Friday, Nov 21., is the day of the AHS homecoming dance; be ready to dance the night away with everyone. Tickets can be purchased in the student activities office (SAO) in cafeteria B3 for $10.

