2014 AHS Baseball Season

Ryan Bowen after hitting a home run vs. North Attleboro. (Photo/Cameron Merritt)

Ryan Bowen after hitting a home run vs. North Attleboro. (Photo/Cameron Merritt)

By: Nick Desmarais

The AHS Baseball team had an outstanding season, finishing with a record of 15-4. The 2014 Hockomock League champions made it all the way to the MIAA D1 South Sectional semi-finals before falling 2-0 to Norwood in 14 innings.

In the first round of the playoffs the Bombardiers beat Plymouth South 6-5 with a huge seventh inning comeback. This was the first playoff win for AHS baseball in years.

Senior Travis Tanguay said, “It felt pretty awesome to win that first playoff game. For many years we have had some great teams with a lot of talent but we can never seem to get by the first round. But this year we had an amazing group of guys, we did great things in winning the Hock as well as making it into the semis.”

“It felt great to win; it was a real team win on a big stage. We have been a comeback team all season so there was no doubt in my mind that we could do it,” said senior captain Ryan Bowen, adding, “It hasn’t really hit me yet that my high school baseball career is over. I still have Legion but it’s completely different from high school. I’m going to miss it. I had a lot of great memories.”

The loss in the South Sectional finals was very emotional for the team. With a starting lineup of predominately seniors playing their last high school baseball game, a loss would obviously bring out a lot of emotion.

“I am content with this season. But I feel like we had the potential to win it all. We easily could have beaten Norwood especially with how good our pitching was; we just weren’t scoring when we needed to. We had a ton of chances to end the game but we just could not capitalize. So it stinks the season had to come to an end; it was a hell of a last game. I can’t believe I am done with high school baseball. It went by way too fast and I would love to be able to keep playing,” said Tanguay.

The Bombardiers have seven juniors who are ready to take on the role of varsity players next year including Matt Elliot, Tim Christensen, Kyle Sullivan, Tim Bement, Austin Perry, Justin Lako, and Trevor Panasuk.

“I am definitely excited for next year. The seniors and the rest of the varsity team had a great season and left a great legacy. I look forward to having another great season next year with the work we will put in during the offseason,” said upcoming senior Christensen.

Sullivan said, “I am very excited for next year, I can’t wait to play on the varsity level for the first time”

“We have a lot of talent with the upcoming players. I don’t think we will have a problem next year,” said Bowen.

For more information about becoming a part of the Bombardiers baseball team contact Athletic Director Mark Houle at mhoule@attleboroschools.com or Head Coach and Dean of Students Mr. Matt Bosh at mbosh@attleboroschools.com.

