Summer Jam

By: Rachel Oliviera

JAM'N 94.5 logo. (www.jamn945.com)

JAM’N 94.5 logo. (www.jamn945.com)

Summer Jam is an annual hip-hop fest held in Mansfield, Mass. at 5 p.m. It’s sponsored by “Boston’s #1 hip-hop radio station,” JAM’N 94.5, which features popular acts of hip-hop and R&B artists. Although usually held on the first Saturday in June, this year the show is scheduled for May 30 at the Xfinity Center.

Ticket prices range from $30 to $230 according to Livenation. “Since lawn tickets are less expensive then seating section, most teens buy lawn and plus it’s where all the partying goes on,” said junior Joe Quinn.

Performances include Rappers Kid ink, Kendrick Lamar, Lil Jon, Ty Dolla $ign, Juicy J, B.o.B, Jennifer Lopez, and more to be announced.

“I’m really excited to see Kid ink,” said sophomore Alyssa Lentini, because “[he’s] so attractive and I love most of his songs.”

Summer Jam is known for teens to hang-out so they can enjoy Boston’s biggest hip-hop night. Summer Jam is known as a scene for teenage drinking and smoking marijuana according to junior Nicolle St. Cyr, who said, “There is quite a bit of smoking and drinking at Summer Jam.”

“My parents don’t usually allow me to go Summer Jam because of the smoking and drinking,” said junior Arianna Johnson.

“I don’t drink or smoke, I really just go to enjoy the music and I’m really excited to see Kid ink,” said junior James Potter.

Brian Todd Collins, best known by his stage name Kid ink, is who most people want to see. He is a well-known American Rapper, who recently launched his new album Almost Home and On My Own Lane.

“Summer Jam was a blast last year, [I’m] so excited to go this year,” said senior Hannah Smith.

