AHS “Good Citizenship” Award

Karissa Hand (left), Max Lancaster (center), and Amanda Alfani (right). (Photo/Giovanni Carcamo)

Karissa Hand (left), Max Lancaster (center), and Amanda Alfani (right). (Photo/Giovanni Carcamo)

By: Giovanni Carcamo

Seniors Amanda Alfani, Karissa Hand, and Max Lancaster have been nominated for the AHS “Good Citizenship” Award.

“It’s a huge honor that teachers thought highly of me. All the hard work from the past three years has finally paid off,” said Alfani about her nomination.

“It’s nice to know that teachers think so highly of me, and that my hard work’s being recognized,” Hand said.

Lancaster said, “Even though I might be the only boy, it’s awesome to know that people in the school recognize the things you do.  Being nominated by the teachers means a lot because, students are just a popular vote, but there’s a more deeper meaning being elected by teachers for me. When I found out I was very surprised, with a mix of confused and happy.”

The winner, Lancaster, was chosen by the senior class of 2014 in early Oct.  He has the opportunity to achieve the ultimate award of being the DAR (Daughters of the American Revolution) national winner, which will be a long journey.

Lancaster feels very humble about being up for such a high honor. He sees the process of winning the award as the same process as applying to colleges. Even more, he is excited to be nominated because he can put this on his resume for better opportunities in the future.

The candidates must hold mandatory qualities of dependability, service, leadership, and patriotism to be considered for the award. Lancaster said, “I hope I have the qualities, I believe that is why I got nominated. If I didn’t, I would feel very guilty. It would mean I didn’t deserve it.”

Senior year can be very stressful to any high school student, but being nominated for an award can cause even more stress. Lancaster added, “I don’t want my friends or my other peers to see me as a different person. Just the same one I am now; I’m not any different.”

Lancaster brought himself to a point where he could be recognized as being the true person he is, staying the person his parents raised him to be, and by working to the best of his ability. His advice to others is, “Be willing to do the right thing and try your best.”

The teachers who nominated Lancaster are anonymous, but Lancaster feels very thankful and wished he could know who they were so he could thank them personally. He said, “I am taking [winning] the award as an opportunity.”

The National Organization of DAR asks every high school to pick one student who represents citizenship, leadership, and independence. That student submits a packet to the local chapter, which includes a transcript, letters of recommendation and an essay.

The essay prompt is given when the student agrees to write the required essay. The student only has two hours to write it. If they win at the chapter level, they move on to compete in the state and national competitions by filling out a National Society DAR questionnaire.

The five DAR State finalists will be honored at the Mass. DAR Spring Conference where the state winner will be announced. After that, the state winner will be submitted to the New England Regional competition.

